top of page

Browse >

  • Writer's pictureMartina from Argentina

The Curious Lens is Live!

Proud to announce I just launched my first YouTube vlog! Welcome travelers to this new project. Have you ever wondered how cruise ship crew life is like? Ask away!

 
 
I wanna share the information I wish I had when i first started working on cruise ships!

Hello everybody this is Martina from Argentina!


Today I wanted to quickly welcome you both to my new blog and to my new YouTube channel where I’m going to be sharing everything I've learned working on cruise ships for the past couple of years.


The Curious Lens Project is Live!

I wanted to create this space to answer all the questions i used to have and probably you will have too when embarking on this journey.


At sea everything is different, even the most simple things can be complicated and it’s like learning the basics all over again so there are no silly questions.


When I was due to join my first ship I had to basically stalk someone I didn’t even know on Facebook, feeling really annoying with all my questions, so I wanna be that person of reference for you guys and you can be assured I’m more than happy to help.


Also every time I tell anybody I work on ships I get a ton of questions, from people that are interested in applying or just curious because it’s something so different. So I thought I rather just share my experiences online and be able to help you guys out there.

 

Whether you are considering to start working onboard or you are getting ready to join your first ship or just curious about ship life I invite you to leave a comment below and let me know what content you’d like to see on my videos and blogs and what questions you have for me. Whatever it is that you are wondering about.


Getting on board takes some effort in the beginning, an investment of your time, and yes, your money. So first of all I want to help you guys decide if a career at sea is the right thing for you at all.


I’m gonna tell you everything about what to expect of life at sea, socially and professionally. I’ll explain how contracts work, what the accommodations are for crew and everyday life on board, what jobs you can apply for, the average salary, working hours and the reality of this whole “getting paid to travel” notion.


Once you decided you wanna give it a try, the process for working onboard is lengthy and can seem complicated. So I want to be here for you guys to answer any questions about qualifications, applying, paperwork, visas, etc. And I promise once the first big chunk of paperwork and interviews is done everything else is going to happen super quickly you’ll find yourself boarding a plane to somewhere -probably completely new, that you've never thought you’d travel to. So I want you to know what to expect once onboard.


Even after all the questions I made, once I was on board I realized a lot of things I didn’t even think about and in some ways, I was not properly prepared. So we’ll go through what to pack, what you’ll need to buy (before joining or while onboard), basically how to be prepared to be super comfortable in your contract.

 

Finally, for our Spanish speaking friends, I’ll be adding subtitles in all my videos but I decided to make them in English since it’s the language you need to speak to get this kind of job. As well I will work on translating this Blog! But if you’d like me to make some videos in Spanish, mostly about the application process, which might be easier for you to understand in Spanish, or if my Argentinian friends would like me to discuss my cultural impact as someone from South America please let me know in the comments below as well.

 

So that’s it for this intro guys, I hope you as excited as i am, if so please let me know giving a big thumbs up on this post and the video, and please subscribe to keep watching all the videos I’ll be uploading. Thank you so so much for joining me and I’ll see you next time!


Stay Curious!

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
hiclipart.com (8).png
Sello blanco de la vendimia
Barco de vela

Set Your Course

P_20200213_133946_edited.jpg
Martina
from Argentina
  • Blanco Icono de YouTube
  • Blanco Icono de Instagram
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • Flickr

Audiovisual Designer

Solo Female Backpacker

Cruise Ship Crew Member

The Curious One

Arg_postage_stamp_1944.png
bottom of page